Sis Simons Award Winner 2016

Michelle Straub accepts the Elizabeth "Sis" Simons Memorial Award amongst Dickinson Center employees and board members

Dickinson’s Board of Governors has honored Michelle Straub, LCSW of St. Marys as the 2016 recipient of the Elizabeth “Sis” Simons Memorial Award.  

The award presentation was made in October at the Dickinson’s annual board meeting.  This prestigious honor recognizes a Dickinson Center direct service employee who consistently goes above and beyond in the performance of his/her duties.  Ms. Straub’s selection was based upon her exemplary performance as she consistently met the highest standards of service excellence.  

Michelle Straub, LCSW   Forensic Program Director Outpatient Therapist

Michelle Straub, LCSW
Forensic Program Director
Outpatient Therapist

Michelle Straub is a Licensed Clinical Social Worker and has been with DCI since 2007. Michelle’s education includes a bachelor’s degree in psychology and sociology from Indiana University of Pennsylvania, a master’s degree in social work from the University of Pittsburgh.  Over the years, she has worked as an Employment Support Specialist, Case Manager, Forensic Therapist, and currently is the Forensic Program Director and an Outpatient Therapist.

Heidi Thomas, Executive Director states, Michelle is very deserving of this award; she is a dedicated clinician and program supervisor who takes great pride in her work.  She was nominated by 3 of her peers who all recognized Michelle for going above and beyond for her consumers and her team.    

Michelle  received a monetary gift, an engraved clock,  and will have her name engraved on the Elizabeth “Sis” Simons Memorial Award plaque displayed at Dickinson Center‘s main office at 43 Servidea Drive, Ridgway.  Previous award recipients include: Laura Sypien, Kevin Leahy, Tonya Wolfe, Tammy Perkins, Heidi Eastman, Ed Badeau, Barb Cole, John Ogden, Dr. Paul Francis, Michael DeStefano, Jennifer Dippold, Dawn Dovensky, Tana Funair, and Pat Work. 

Elizabeth “Sis” Simons, was a founding member of the original Dickinson Board of Governors and served for over four decades demonstrating exemplary leadership, public relations, caring, and dedication to Dickinson’s mission.  She achieved an honorary “life” membership on the Board of Governors until she passed away on July 18, 2001.  The Board established the Sis Simons Award to honor her in memory and recognize her significant contributions to Dickinson Center, Inc.